Disney Throwback – 13 Evil Animated Villain Songs


I know that a great deal of you hate Disney…and I would like to say I don’t care!  I love Disney!  I don’t care how old you are, how badass you think you are, or how often you criticize Disney in general : everyone has a favorite Disney character, movie, song…whatever!  I grew up in Florida so this is a fabulous opportunity for me to express my love for Disney.  Now I’m not talking about “evil corporate Disney who steals my money at every turn” but more the “hey, what a fantastical place and imagination you people have” Disney.  I have seen bikers with Mickey tattoos and Asian people with weird costumes (and I mean weird) which is just showing affection for something that makes them happy. 

And you know what makes a lot of people happy?  Evil!  Pure evil!  On Disney soundtracks, the villains songs are normally the most popular with the audience since it detaches from the cheery and uplifting tone of the movie to foretell something sinister on the horizon.  So here I will start with the best evil songs ever…in no particular order!

13. “Night on Bald Mountain” from Fantasia (1940)

Simply put, this is the devil’s song and there is not really a villain like the devil, is there!  Though Disney did not write this piece of orchestra, it was made famous in the states thanks to a wonderful 2 and a half hour movie that most people cannot even stay awake through.

12. “Gaston” from Beauty and the Beast (1991)

I would like to point out early that this song is the only villain song on this list where the villain’s name is in it!  This happens to come from one of my favorite Disney movies and I would like to say that though Gaston was a “villain” you laughed at him more than worried about his evilness.  Hell, I mean this song actually showcases Gaston’s “good” qualities!  Still, he did manage to turn uber evil towards the end.

11. “Mother Knows Best” from Tangled (2010)

So this little number is actually done quite early in the movie…just kind of getting all that evil out at once.  I think this is such a great villain song is that even though the tune is jazzy and seems to be a protective song there is still that undertone of cruelty and malice.  Sort of reminds me of those smiling serial killers.

10. “Trust in Me” from The Jungle Book (1967)

I was really confused about this song for a while.  I didn’t know whether to be afraid or captivated.  And even though Kaa was not the main evil villain in this movie (which is rare for earlier Disney) he did get his own song.

9. “Hellfire” from The Hunchback of Notre Dame (1995)

Oh damn!  Umm…wow, how should I start with this one.  First off…not my entirely favorite movie but it did have some incredible moments but I just think that religion and cartoons shouldn’t really mingle even though this is a work of fiction.  This little ditty is quite literally Judge Frollo dealing with his demons and expressing his wish to have a gypsy woman has a lover…in a Disney movie.  However, given the subject matter I couldn’t have asked for a more incredible villain song!

8. “Be Prepared” from The Lion King (1994)

Two bloody words: Jeremy Irons!  That is all.

7.”Mine, Mine, Mine” from Pocahontas (1995)

I was battling myself for this villain spot since I think “Savages” was a far more offensive song but this is about the villain and not about Disney not caring about racist issues.  Again, one of those movies I wasn’t wild about since it butchered history with a serrated Viking axe laced with skin melting poison…but it was cute.  And it shows how greedy and evil all ambitious white men were coming to the new world.

6. “Friends on the Other Side” from The Princess and the Frog (2009)

I cannot express how much I love this song!  It was a masterpiece and frankly one of the best highlights of this movie!

5. “Poor Unfortunate Souls” from The Little Mermaid (1988)

Classic.  One of the greatest villain songs ever produced by Disney.  I thought that Pat Carroll was absolutely brilliant and no one could have done it better!

4. “World’s Greatest Criminal Mind” from The Great Mouse Detective (1986)

From one of my “favorite movies” category we have ladies and gentlemen…Mr. Vincent Price!  I don’t think I can emphasize how the voice makes the song and this is literally one of the most recognizable voices from the last century!

3. “Headless Horseman” from The Adventures of Ichabod and Mr. Toad (1949)

I love watching this on Halloween!  To this day it can still freak me out a bit like there’s always something there in the room with me. I also like the calm casual way the storyteller is trying to tell you that a man mysteriously disappears one night and everything is just peachy.

2. “Mad Madam Mim” from The Sword in the Stone  (1963)

And now we are down to another, if not my favorite, Disney animated movie!  I think I dig this movie because there is no love story, no princess, no actual villain…it’s really hard to describe.  If it were to have a definable villain, however, it would be Mim.  I mean, this is a woman who loves being horrible and evil.

1. “Cruella De Vil” from 101 Dalmatians

Seriously, if this were a list based on the most to least, this would be the best villain song ever!  It is so damn catchy and..and..it’s just fantastic!  And the character fit the song so well that it was hard not to just fall in love with this.  I think this is what made the movie famous to start with!

Leave a Reply

