Soundtrack Throwback – O Brother, Where Art Thou? (2000)


O Brother

I have actually heard that not a lot of people have heard of this movie.  Why?  It’s George Clooney, it’s a fun story and it has a wonderfully nostalgic soundtrack!  My father, who likes next to nothing, likes this soundtrack.  His favorite track is “O Death”…yeah, he’s morbid.  I mean, the soundtrack won a Grammy.  A Grammy people!  It deters a little from my rock/pop soundtracks and yields to more folk and bluegrass but as I have said before, we wouldn’t have gotten very far without them!

Music was at the forefront of the movie and was not used as background noise.  Gospel, bluegrass and country, dirges, and swing create a vintage feel for the southern themed movie.Being from the South myself I have deep feeling for this soundtrack.  All goofy sarcasm aside, I truly feel at home with many of the songs.  And how could you not smile with a fictitious band name like the Soggy Bottom Boys?

1. “Po’ Lazarus” James Carter and the Prisoners
2. “Big Rock Candy Mountain” Harry McClintock
3. “You Are My Sunshine” Norman Blake
4. “Down to the River to Pray” Alison Krauss
5. “I Am a Man of Constant Sorrow” (radio station version) Soggy Bottom Boys & Dan Tyminski
6. “Hard Time Killing Floor Blues” Chris Thomas King
7. “I Am a Man of Constant Sorrow” (instrumental) Norman Blake
8. “Keep On the Sunny Side” The Whites
9. “I’ll Fly Away” Alison Krauss & Gillian Welch
10. “Didn’t Leave Nobody but the Baby” Emmylou Harris, Alison Krauss, Gillian Welch
11. “In the Highways” Leah, Sarah, and Hannah Peasall
12. “I Am Weary, Let Me Rest” The Cox Family
13. “I Am a Man of Constant Sorrow” (instrumental) John Hartford
14. “O Death” Ralph Stanley
15. “In the Jailhouse Now” Soggy Bottom Boys & Tim Blake Nelson
16. “I Am a Man of Constant Sorrow” (with band) Soggy Bottom Boys & Dan Tyminski
17. “Indian War Whoop” (instrumental) John Hartford
18. “Lonesome Valley” The Fairfield Four
19. “Angel Band” The Stanley Brothers
Leave a Reply

