Soundtrack Throwback – Top Gun (1986)


TopGun-Soundtrack-SpecialExpandedEdOne of the many aspects that I liked about high school…or should I say until my 12th grade year one of the things that was tolerable was NJROTC.  I got to meet a lot of really awesome people and I got to shoot a rifle.  Fun for all!  But there was one thing that annoyed the hell out of me and that was nicknames.  “Maverick” and “Ace” and shit like that.  Full Metal Jacket was some of these guys bible and the soundtrack of choice for road trips to the Boot Camps at Camp Blanding: Top Gun.

After a while, I started wishing that Kenny Loggins would trip into a vat of acid and melt away to the melodic sounds of “Mighty Wings”.  But alas, I must confess, having put the soundtrack away a while I realize how much I missed it.  I especially love Berlin so them on this soundtrack was amazing. Even though the production company released the CD two more times with some extra tracks but the original is still the best!

  1. “Danger Zone” by Kenny Loggins
  2. “Mighty Wings” by Cheap Trick
  3. “Playing with the Boys” by Kenny Loggins
  4. “Lead Me On” by Teena Marie
  5. “Take My Breath Away (Love Theme from Top Gun)” by Berlin
  6. “Hot Summer Nights” by Miami Sound Machine
  7. “Heaven in Your Eyes” by Loverboy
  8. “Through the Fire” by Larry Greene
  9. “Destination Unknown” by Marietta
  10. Top Gun Anthem” by Harold Faltermeyer & Steve Stevens
Leave a Reply

