Music Nostaglia – 5 Great Songs of ’08


Wow I have neglected this blog!  I feel ashamed yet slightly well rested…odd.  So on we shall go boldly into the further future!  This is the year for pop and I kind of dug it.  My musical tastes are eclectic (to say the least) so I can enjoy the once in a while rise of the pop star.  I mean…it did give us Ziggy in the 70’s right!  2008 also struck a political chord that year with many other firsts (none of which I will mention since I am not getting pulled into it) so it comes as no surprise that we have debut albums and comebacks alike.

Just Dance – Lady Gaga

Despite what a lot of people say I like Lady Gaga.  I like her because she’s fresh, she has talent and she is so much fun to watch!  This was the first song I saw and I thought, based on the video, that she was hip hop but after the first few months of Gaga shock we all came to think differently didn’t we!

Disturbia – Rihanna

After the huge success of Umbrella and before Chris Brown’s “mistake” which we shall not give any more attention to we have this incredibly awesome song!  Ironically written by Brown this haunting song is fun and dark and is now played around Halloween every year because the youth of today can get so unimaginative with party music!

Second Chance – Shinedown

I am a big fan of Shinedown and I can think of so many better songs that they’ve done but this one had the most commercial success.  I am sort of sad though since almost all of their content is begining to have the same chemistry and formula.  I feel this band has so much more potential but still Second Chance has a distinctive Shinedown sound.

Hallelujah – Jeff Buckley

I know it’s an old song but it became super popular around this time just like Bohemian Rhapsody due to soundtrack placement.  It’s a great song too so just listen…and cry a little inside.

I Kissed a Girl – Katy Perry

And here is our other firster…Katy!  This song had every girl grabbing their best friend and snogging in front of cameras with all the boys being “Oh damn!  That’s sexy!”.  A lot of females had that inclination…not me, but a lot of females.  I dug the lyrics and the playfulness of the piece.  Katy is sort of the underdog right now (in 2008) but she won’t stay that way forever.

Leave a Reply

