Orgy and Davey Suicide @ Brewsters Roc Bar


ORGY

I said it in the Burn Season concert posting and I’ll say it here…Brewsters really, really needs to get their shit together!  Doors opened at 7PM…9PM there is still next to no one at the concert!  And this is Orgy we’re talking about!  Blue Monday, Opticon, Dreams in Digital for crying out loud!  The lead singer, Jay, lent his voice to the Queen of the Damned soundtrack which John Davis wrote the damn music for! This band wrote my high school salvation album Candyass and my graduation soundtrack Vapor Transmission!  I have been waiting to see this band for years!  So allow me to give you a breakdown of the evening so you will know the disappointment which later turned into an opportunity.

To start off, I only found out about this concert through the Brewsters website since I was curious as to some of the bands playing.  Brewsters is almost at the same level as Jack Rabbits (or as Leola lovingly refers to as Crack Habits) in that their talent selection is a hit and miss.  Leola and I are still waiting for Jeffery Star to come back!  We missed him the first time but we heard it’s an entertaining show to say the least.  Anyway, when I saw the Orgy flyer I thought I would never get tickets for two reasons.

  1.  This is Orgy.  They are headliners and the rest of the tour is sold out.
  2.  I live in Freakville…there was bound to be a big surplus of goth clad cult rejects lining up for a chance to catch Jay’s spit.

To my utter disappointment, neither was the case.  Don’t get me wrong.  There was a plethora of couture pale morbidity walking around in black platforms and Twilight makeup and one who even broke my camera for a few minutes but I must continue.  So we invited our friend Leesa along but we needn’t worry about that.  She was going to the same show for another reason.  She’s good friends with Davey, the lead for the opener Davey Suicide, and she was going to support.  With the size of the audience I am proud to have friends willing to go to desolate concerts to show support for music of any type!

When we got to Brewsters Leesa let us in on a inside secret.  The guy who owns Brewsters doesn’t promote shows hardly at all!  Hell, even Burn Season had a bigger crowd and they only play one show a year!  And need I remind all you readers that this was Orgy!?  After Davey Suicide there was Vampires Everywhere…yes…yes there were.  So then Orgy finally came on stage at 11PM.  Amazing is a pale word to describe the energy they gave to such a small audience!  I managed to get two full song videos amongst the inebriated chaos Opticon and Blue Monday which was their “finale”.

But see that was the really awesome part!  Since the crowd was so small and generally harmless drunks, Jay decided it would be a good idea to come down and rock with us!  This was, of course, incredible yet at the same time quite dangerous…for us.  We three are tough but smallish and both Leesa and Leola had a beer waterfall cascade unto them like a holy rock star baptism that was not asked for nor wanted.  And when Jay joined in I’m not too sure anyone in the audience will actually remember it all.  But I have it recorded so all those lyrics of Blue Monday you half baked bitches messed up on will be heard in high HD quality!

And to think if we had a sold out show we might have missed this rock and roll opportunity!  We left with a hug from Davey (of whom Leola noted smelled better than the men in the crowd and he performed a whole set under hot lights), Leola and Leesa heckled the bastards who threw beer on them, and cocked blocked a very drunk scene kid.  All and all, great music, great friends, and great evidence!  Thank you Freakville for not disappointing me even when you do so everyday!

Leave a Reply

