Cover Songs & Remakes Vol 3


In the immortal words of Brent Smith (Shinedown) “Oh my here we go!”  So as far as music goes, I fear I have met many…”fans” who have demonstrated a bit of prejudice and misunderstandings about a lot of bands.  I myself have been met with a great deal of criticism when it comes to music in general.  “How could you say that about this band?”, “That wasn’t a remake…it was an original remake of an original.” or  “Why isn’t this band in your top favorites?” or my current favorite “Who gave you the right to talk about music?”  Sorry to have to tell you this if your not already on the band wagon: I don’t need permission.   No one does.  If everyone is done with the whining and bitching…I would like to turn up my headphones and rock out!

So, with this small rant out of the way I would like to begin the third installment of the Covers and Remakes lists.  There have been so many artists who have remade songs and even more tribute bands who do nothing but play these songs over and over again that these lists might never end.  And on we roll with the next five.  Enjoy!

White Wedding – Doro

If you are a metal head and you have Googled ‘awesome looking women in metal’ then you guys know right who this is!  Doro Pesch was the lead singer of the 80’s metal band Warlock.  During her solo career she did a few remakes and this is one of them.  Billy Idols White Wedding was the epitome of bad ass in the 80’s and Doro’s  2001 cover honors the spiky punks original!

Land of Confusion – Disturbed

Since I am a product of the 80’s I feel compelled to point out when covers from the 80’s come out.  This is actually a rather old cover (in relative terms of music) but well worth noting.  This 2004 remake of Genesis’ 1986 hit single turns the politically charged original into a super vamped up good time!

Mack the Knife – Bobby Darin

With older music, it’s always so hard to differentiate when a song was a remake or an original since sooooo many people covered almost brand new music all the time.  (Unchained Melody is a fine example) and Bobby Darin is no exception!  Mack the Knife (with it’s coy little lyrics about a serial killer who killed when money got tight) was originally, originally written in 1928 and was brought to the states by Louis Armstrong but made famous by Bobby’s 1959 version.

Tainted Love – Marilyn Manson

As with most of Marilyn Manson’s videos…never what you’d expect.  Ironically, the only thing that creeped me out was the blinking toys.  Soft Cell’s remake of the 1965 version by Gloria Jones is probably the inspiration behind Marilyn’s decision to cover it.  I particularly love this version because of its grittiness!

Because the Night – 10,000 Maniacs

This is a very recognizable song and what makes this a weird cover is that it has been covered numerous times before (some of which I’ll put on the list later since they aren’t half bad) but everyone remembers this one!  After a small bit of research I believe that Bruce Springsteen was the guy that originally wrote it but Patti Smith (Mapplethorpe refernce anyone?) was the one who recorded it.  But it wa the Maniacs in 1993 who are the most recognized performers.

Special – What do you think?

I know it’s a little late but I just caught this a while back and wanted to ask if you like it.  Miley Cyrus did a remake of Rebel Yell and I wanted to know if you guys can dig it.

2 thoughts on “Cover Songs & Remakes Vol 3

  1. I have no problem with remakes so long as they are good ones. You know my tastes. Sometimes I prefer the originals, sometimes I prefer the remakes.

    Miley’s remake of Rebel Yell is good, though I prefer Idol’s (which is also remake of Tommy James and the Shondells =P). With this, she sounds like a grittier/rock version Dolly Parton and that was actually nice to listen to; though I can’t say the same about how she sang Nirvana’s Smells Like Teen Spirit, ugh!

    Like

Leave a Reply

