10 Memorable Video Game Soundtracks (vol. 1)


Video Game Music

If you are alive today chances are you have played a video game of some sort, somewhere, sometime!  For me, I grew up with in the age of Nintendo.  They were sort of like the best babysitters parents of the 80’s and 90’s ever had!  And to this day I recognize the Super Mario Bros. soundtrack muffled down a hallway!  Have you ever watched The Wizard with Fred Savage and got jealous that you couldn’t afford the power glove or that years later you laughed at the competition game being Super Mario Bros. 3?!  However, years later the gaming industry wised up and started coming up with not only better, far more interesting games but they had spectacular soundtracks and sound effects that you now use as ringtones and alerts on your smart phones!  And there are so many out there!  This first list is compiled of ones that are off the top of my head really.  If anyone has any suggestions please comment below I would love to hear from you guys!

.hack//sign

This soundtrack almost reminds me of an anime soundtrack and the game sort of runs like one too!  It sounds very middle eastern (if I may) and has that nice dancy feel on top of that all the music seems to be in English!  And actually has lyrics as opposed to background tracks and OST.   I can totally groove out to this stuff!

Chrono Cross

Another suggestion from a friend.  I’m not entirely familiar with Chrono Cross but I have watched my friends play it…a lot!  When you have gaming friends you know what I’m talking about!  But this is old school type stuff.  But I like it because it makes me think of my friends when I listen.  All of us lazily sprawled on the floor with soda and junk food surrounding us…I miss not being an adult sometimes!

Dead Space

::shivers::  Awesome.  That was a shiver of awesome!  I have to give props to Markiplier for playing the Let’s Play series with the Dead Space games!  He made it far less disturbing and brought about a fascination for the game.  They have the full soundtrack on YouTube if you would like to put it on.  Of course the first few minutes is of a wonderful rendition of “Twinkle, Twinkle” and if you ever play Dead Space or see someone else play it…that kind of freaks you out.

Legend of Zelda

Oh Zelda.  How your main character is mistaken for Zelda when in reality his name was Link.  This game is similar in popularity to Mario and should therefore be treated with the same awesome respect.  However, I find these games more engaging and the music much more…adventurous I suppose.

Final Fantasy (any of them)

For time purposes I will just emphasize on FFVII since that one is by far my absolute favorite game of all time!  It has my favorite character, Sephiroth (who has the most awesome villain theme in the history of video games!) and basically kicked off PlayStation’s Final Fantasy craze.  But truly you can take your pick of the lot!  They are all so amazing.

Kingdom Hearts

I’m going to give props to the first game in this list.  This game set records and has left gamers anticipating the next installment since it is about going on 8 years since the last full game release!  Hikaru Utada did the opening so and a softer version for the end credits.  All in all, even the little diddies of Disney games are enjoyable and bring back a bit of nostalgia to me!

Devil May Cry IV

This one is actually a suggestion from Leola. My first recollection of this game came from a commercial in which (for some unknown reason) a woman beat the hell out of boyfriend with a bouquet of roses! And as you might except the music is very choir like and funky vampire? Did I just say that?! But the soundtrack really does kick ass! Does anyone else kind of hear Rammstein!

Castlevania

Hell yeah!  I love Castlevania!  Not only is this an incredibly engaging game but the music is just classic! Two words: kick ass! This is the original bad ass vampire soundtrack! I’m even a fan of the original Nintendo tracks! Check out these tracks and the other playlists on the annotations below the video on YouTube.

Halo

Two words: kick ass!  This game is a multi-BILLION  dollar industry!  Whole lives have been lost for this game…real ones!  So they had to make this soundtrack awesome as hell!  I’m even including Breaking Benjamin’s song “Blow Me Away” on the next list of best theme songs!  It really is a beautiful soundtrack!  Go check it out!

Super Mario Bros.

Really?  I talked about this all up in the intro paragraph and you didn’t think I would put it up?!  Silly you!  Mario was the guy that kind of started it all.  I know there had been video characters in the early 80’s (Alex Kidd comes to mind) but when this game came out it was fun, addictive, and damn catchy!  It has been emulated, parodied, and mocked.  He has his own movie (which isn’t saying much because so does Double Dragon) but it’s his music that, when it plays, is hummed and rocked out to by Generation X and Y!

Leave a Reply

