Music Nostaligia – 5 Great Songs of ’96


Then something weird happened…rock and pop got married and came up with some rather interesting stuff.  Poetry and metaphor became even more important.  It was like the Seattle music scene was evolving into a far more hipper less grungy version of mainstream rock.  I’m not saying that’s a bad thing, I’m just making an observation!  This was the beginning of my high school years so this was what I had to deal with…no wonder I turned to j-rock!  But if I had to listen to anything from the 90’s that didn’t involve Rob Zombie and Godsmack…I guess this is alright!

Follow You Down – Gin Blossoms

See!  This is what I meant!  It’s like when you’re angry and you stop throwing your mom’s porcelain figures of cats and unicorns into you bargain store TV set and you take a deep breathe and try to order a pizza for everyone.  It’s unnerving and awkward at first, but everyone likes you now that you’ve calmed the fuck down (by the way, everyone owes me $5 for the pizza).

Name – the Goo Goo Dolls

I always felt like this song had something to do with the witness protection program…great song…but is it? That’s one of a few reasons I’d never tell other people another persons name.

Sweet Dreams – Labouche

Oh!  Like I said before, I really don’t do trance stuff, but I liked how this song at least started out.  However, the trance kicked in and…well…

Wonderwall – Oasis

I have a cousin who loves this so.  One question…Do I want to be a wonderwall?  What is that anyway?  I’ve been a state of wonder ever since.  Oh!  Was that it?  Was that what a wonderwall is?  A state of wonder?  No…I’m not too sure.  Dammit!  Does anyone really know!  Anyway, I actually really like how this songs sounds and yet another question is brought up.  Where was I when you guys were getting high?

Who Will Save Your Soul – Jewel

Soooo this was the decade of questions was it?  I don’t know.  Everyone…I just don’t know!  Now here’s Jewel asking me who’s gonna save my soul…from what?!  From whom?  Mandingos?  What!?  Better yet, who’s gonna save me from the Macarena, huh?  Answer me that one Jewel!

Leave a Reply

