Music Nostaligia – 5 Great Songs of ’93


If you all have noticed I’m just breezing by these posts!  Why?  Maybe because they’re interesting, maybe I have a lot of free time on my hands…and maybe, just maybe, I want to get this decade over with!  I grew up in the 90’s, I was in middle and high school then so this really…really bugs the shit out of me that I have to relive the audible memory of these years!  Hoever, the ones I pick out are really the ones that I like so onward!

Runaway Train – Soul Asylum

::sigh:: Depression all around!  No wonder the suicide rate went up in the early 90’s!  I just remember the music video for this song had a huge and powerful voice to the missing persons community.  It was also a very frightening video to watch since you could see how easy it was for people to get abducted in the US.  The scariest for me was the skin head white van rape…as a woman… that scared the living hell out of me!

The Proclaimers – I’m Gonna Be (5000 Miles)

Finally a perky song!  This was the main soundtrack song for Benny and Joon, a movie with then almost unknown Johnny Depp.  The one thing everybody really likes to do is make that thousand mile sound when that part came up.  They’re Scottish…you know this right?

I’d Do Anything For Love (But I Won’t Do That) – Meat Loaf

What Meatloaf?  Dammit!  What in the hell wouldn’t you do for love?  That is a question everyone and their grandmothers have been asking since this song came out!  What?  Sex? Drugs? Bestiality? Long term life insurance policies?  Sucking down nitrous oxide while wearing a clown mask and trying to make offensive balloon penises while screaming at police “I live on the other side of the rainbow, how about you”?  What?!

Come Undone – Duran Duran

This was a come back of Duran Duran.  This plus Ordinary World became two of their most loved hits and remains some of their biggest hits yet!  The video for this song struck me as odd but I could sort of see it, but I just love how this song sounds nothing like the rest of the album!  Nothing…like…nope.  Great song though!

Livin’ On The Edge – Aerosmith

Happily, Aerosmith saw some of their greatest success when Wayne’s World came out…that and Liv Tyler was put into some of the bands videos along with Alicia Silverstone…the Clueless goddess herself.  So they had a way into the young superficial hipster generation.  I like how their music doesn’t change but their songs are all different!  Rock on!

Leave a Reply

