Music Nostaligia – 5 Great Songs of ’91


Okay, so at the beginning of the 90’s we find that the 80’s are still trying to survive in the cutthroat environment of which was the newly twisted family of 90’s music.  Hip Hop is the new genre of music that is breaking through the stratosphere and becoming more mainstream than Kenny G (who will not be in the list!).  The rock and pop genres are trying to stay afloat and evolve with the ever changing world around them hoping that they won’t get sucked into the thankless vacuum that can be the merciless music industry.

(Everything I do) I Do It For You – Bryan Adams

I know…I know.  I’m tired of this song too.  but you have to get it in your head that this was such a big song when it came out, I don’t think there was a high school dance of sappy wedding reception that didn’t play this song.  But this song was the one that put Bryan on the map!

More Than Words – Extreme

Ricky Nelson’s twin sons!  What could go wrong with this?  What a wonderful song!

Losing My Religion – REM

I love how this video has images of St. Sebastian…and the title in Losing My Religion.  REM would have been a fabulous band if they had stayed together past their prime.

Wind Of Change – Scorpions

This song was hard for me to find a few years ago and I don’t know why!  The Scorpions discuss a more political point of view than the typical blood sex and rock and roll (there is nothing wrong with that at all!).  Many people recognized this song by the signature whistle.

Rhythm of My Heart – Rob Stewart

Since I grew up in a military family (helicopter technician) and this song was done during the height of Desert Storm and resonated a high ping in military families…well, it really means something to me.  I don’t get sentimental about a lot of things… but my family, especially my military pride,  is never in question.

Leave a Reply

