Music Nostaligia – 5 Great Songs of ’90


I have to come clean with you all.  I have to clear the air as you will…even though I am a product of the 80’s and grew up in the 90’s this is going to be a HUGE challenge for me.  When I say huge challenge… I mean I’m going to have a serious problem with picking songs from this decade since I like so few of them.  A lot of good things happened to me in the 90’s…The Crow (I love Brandon Lee)…ummm…j-rock…I survived the Macarena with all limbs intact…I am pretty sure there’s other stuff but I’m trying to suppress the memory.  So let’s just bite the bullet and get started!

Nothing Compares 2 U – Sinead O’Connor

Ah Sinead…pre anti-religion Pope tearing priest loving lunacy!  This lovely song was written by Prince and had a wonderful video.  Unfortunately, Sinead’s fame was replaced by infamy when her Irish feistiness kicked in at the most inappropriate time and…well that was that.

Cradle of Love – Billy Idol

I have to include Billy since this was his last hit with success since times were changing and 80’s rock was being replaced with far more “serious” music.  I like this video since this was my first clear image of Billy and it was such a good song!  He said “80’s” and the kids of the 90’s said “No!” with all their plaid and hemp flavored theologies…i guess you could call it that.

Black Velvet – Alannah Myles

I still like this song and I don’t care who knows it!  Velvet was the thing in the early 90’s and this song played on it!  Whenever someone plays that slow guitar jam…you will have a sing-a-long that will be more epic than a 60’s hippie commune!

We Didn’t Start The Fire – Billy Joel

A history through the decades is the best thing I can think of here.  My generation learned Doris Day, swooned at the mention of U2 and screamed “Belgians in the Congo” like we fucking knew what it meant!

U Can’t Touch This – M.C. Hammer

Hip Hop.  Even though this song has been…”whitified” I suppose, it still had a big impact on music.  I also know of a group of scene kids who can rap Vanilla Ice…which is a sad talent but I don’t judge.  I can dig Hammer though.  The Addams Family even got into the kick and when that happens…magic happens!

Leave a Reply

