Music Nostaligia – 5 Great Songs of ’87


Spandex!  It’s here!  I knew we’d unearth that evetually.  Admit it…you rocked that spandex body suit at least once in your life!  And people think it’s a new fad.  Ha!  Choreography was a big deal by this time even if it was just swaying your hips or jumping about like some rabid hairless canine who just ate your chocolate stash you were saving for your “special” night.  And believe me, I know that is a memory you wish you could forget!

La Isla Bonita – Madonna

This song made me love Madonna!  Nothing said cool in the 80’s like her!  This was also the years of her greatest style in my opinion, the bleached pixie! The True Blue album was a follow up to her movie Who’s That Girl and the soundtrack that it produced.  Now who wants to go to San Pedro?  I’m feeling like a somba!

Faith – George Michael

Ah beautiful George!  This was the top of the top for you!  Everyone loved you before but this album jumped you into the stratosphere!  Still, no one really knew…did theyGeorge?  No, I didn’t think so.  But who cared back then?  It was a great album and we haven’t seen the last of you on the lists!

With or Without You, I Still Haven’t Found What I’m Looking For, Where The Streets Have No Name – U2

Why so many U2 songs?  Because their fucking amazing that’s why!  They are a sensational 80’s band I don’t care what religious wormhole they traveled down I still adore them!  The Joshua Tree was their best album in my opinion and remains to this day one of those albums that I would save from a flaming inferno started by a bunch of tweaked out schoolboys on a anger binge!  The only thing I ask is put aside your stereotypical religious viewpoint and enjoy some great rock music!

Touch Me (I Want Your Body) – Samantha Fox

Realizing that a lot of women played on their sexuality (not as much as now, but still enough) that by this time shoulder pads were for the working girl and spandex and tutus were for the bright young things!  And something about acid wash and ripped jeans.

I Need You Tonight – INXS

I MISS YOU INXS!  I loved you so!  This song was so revolutionary even for the 80’s!  I chaulk up the loss of Michael Hutchence in 1997 (yet another thing I can blame the 90’s with…you’ll understand once we get there!) around the same pain as loosing Hide from X-Japan who died in a relitively similar manner…

One thought on “Music Nostaligia – 5 Great Songs of ’87

Leave a Reply

