Music Nostalgia – 5 Great Songs of ’73


Who was waiting for Aerosmith?  I know I was!  This is also the beginning of Pink Floyd and the slow, poisonous defeat of country into it’s own channels of music.  Don’t get me wrong, I actually really like country, but mainstream USA is about to segregate themselves faster than a restaurant in 1960!  ::sigh:: Can’t we all just get along?

Lynyrd Skynyrd – Free Bird

Absolutely, positively the most incredible example of rock and roll that can be found in this decade!  I know of Japanese musicians today who claim this song as the reason they are in the business to start with!  This marks Skynyd’s longest song…lasting over 14 minutes during concerts!

Aerosmith – Dream On

I have to admit that I am an Aerosmith fan…80’s Aerosmith, but their earlier music doesn’t disappoint!  I heard this song on a compilation CD and thought it was current.  I had no idea it was from the 70’s.  That is a cool song!

Pink Floyd – Money

Floyd is not for everyone.  Their earlier stuff was very experimental and lasted forever!  This is was a great hit for this band since it was a deceiving precursor of The Wall!  That is for later on…and you just wait till I mention the movie!

The Sweet – Ballroom Blitz

Admitedly, I again heard this song for the first time on the Wayne’s World soundtrack!  I love how at the start, when the boys make their introductions, that they sound like their phone sex callers…or they sound gay either one.

Dolly Parton – Jolene

I would have beaten myself if I hadn’t put Dolly on this list!  She’s phenomenal!  I was actually supposed to be named after this song, but after having heard the lyrics I don’t know if I wanted to be named after a man-stealing red head!  At least it would have proven how awesomely pretty I am…women need that sometimes!

5 thoughts on “Music Nostalgia – 5 Great Songs of ’73

  1. Thank you for sharing superb informations. Your website is very cool. I am impressed by the details that you have on this web site. It reveals how nicely you understand this subject. Bookmarked this web page, will come back for extra articles. You, my pal, ROCK! I found just the info I already searched everywhere and simply couldn’t come across. What a perfect site.

    Like

  2. I have not checked in here for some time because I thought it was getting boring, but the last several posts are great quality so I guess I will add you back to my everyday bloglist. You deserve it my friend 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

