Music Nostalgia – 5 Great Songs of ’71


That’s right everyone…this is the year of Stairway!  It’s time to let the Led out!  The start of the 70’s almost sealed the death of the 60’s hippie and made way for hard rock bands to blossom like the putrid corpse flowers they were born to be!  But guess what?  Funk is on the way with a healthy side dish of Afro loving disco…but that’s not until KISS succumbs to the deadly groove of the dancing disco ball much later on!

Led Zeppelin – Stairway To Heaven

Do I even have to explain why this song in on the list?  That’s almost insulting to the all the established rock lovers out there in the great white unknown!  That’s like asking why apple pie is so important to America, why the Great Wall was so important to China, why bordellos are so important in Japan…it just is!

The Doors – Riders on the Storm

I recall vividly lying on the floor of my friends house in the middle of summer during hurricane season listening to this song about 10 times!  You don’t even have to be high to listen to this song and fully feel…awesome…I guess is the right word…

David Bowie – Life on Mars?

I love how it’s a question.  Is it really.  I actually first hear this song as it was redone by Anggun.  I really like her easy listening rendition…but David holds a special place in my heart!

Bill Withers – Ain’t No Sunshine When She’s Gone

(my friend was humming this as I started on this one..  🙂  I really like the repetition in this one…you know…cause he does!  This is a really light funk song because it makes you groove a bit.

America – Horse With No Name

Why doesn’t the horse have a name?  What?  It wasn’t good enough to have a name?  This song has become one of those songs which I have more questions than answers coming from it.  For one…listen to the lyrics, I think they had a really weird dream and then forgot English!  If you are a child of the 80’s you just might recognize this band…as the band who did The Last Unicorn song!

9 thoughts on “Music Nostalgia – 5 Great Songs of ’71

  1. F*ckin’ awesome things here. I am very satisfied to see your post. Thank you so much and i am looking forward to contact you. Will you kindly drop me a e-mail?

    Like

  2. I’ve read some just right stuff here. Certainly worth bookmarking for revisiting. I surprise how much effort you put to make this kind of excellent informative web site.

    Like

Leave a Reply

