Music Nostalgia – 5 Great Songs of ’68


So this was the year of Folsom Prison performance by legendary Johnny Cash.  Though Johnny’s music did not make the list this year, I fear I must give him his due credit since when I finally die he’ll probably kick me out of the afterlife’s bad ass club and I need to get into that club dammit!

Simon and Garfunkel – Mrs. Robinson

This song was actually made famous because of the movie The Graduate…not the other way around!  And it’s folksy sound is not only catchy, but it takes your attention away from the fact that the song has absolutely nothing to do with the movie…just the name of the most awesomely famous seductress…Mrs. Robinson!

Jimi Hendrix – All Along The Watchtower

If you know someone who has never heard this song before…please punch them in the face for me!  Then have all your cooler friends knock them around a bit for good measure!  Then…educate them in the ways of rock and congratulate yourself for being such a good friend!

Steppenwolf – Born To Be Wild

I think every hard-boiled teenager at some point sits in the garage mounted to the front seat of their parents car at three in the morning wearing sunglasses and listens to this song in a pathetic hope dad will finally allow him to open the garage door and smoke that Dodge Colt Vista out onto the highway!

The Rolling Stones – Sympathy For The Devil

Hells yeah!  In my opinion, the best Stones song ever written!  I even like the Guns n’ Roses version from the Interview With A Vampire soundtrack (awesome) so if Axel couldn’t screw up this song you know it’s a good one!

The Doors – Hello, I Love You

Hello Jim…I love you too.  I miss you.  What happened?  Did the French authorities screw something up while investigating your death?  Oh, I see.  Sorry.  Wish I could ask you later, but the French keep threatening to deport your remains, but they realize you’re too much of a tourist attraction to let you go.  See ya ’round Jim…next time I’m in Paris.

One thought on “Music Nostalgia – 5 Great Songs of ’68

Leave a Reply

