Music Nostalgia – 5 Great Songs of ’60


Vince Clark was born in this year!  You know Vince…from Depeche Mode who will appear on the lists in the 80’s!  This is the year of transition…sort of.  This is the beginning of the end for most doo-wop groups.

Brian Hyland – Itsy Bitsy Teenie Weenie Yellow Polka Dot Bikini

What a fun little song!  Once I saw some of the swimsuit fashions of the time I was like “Damn!  My father would have killed me!”  Or at least would have let me parade around sporting a sweatshirt on top…in the summer…in Florida!

Roy Orbison – Only the Lonely

You can’t say no to that voice!  You could be chased by some skeevy looking bastard in a Megadeath t-shirt with a pipe in his hand but if that song came on…you would sing along as you went kung-fu on his ass!

Ray Charles – Georgia On My Mind

The theme song for one of the nations once most racially intolerant states…sung by a black man…who was blind…who made more money than you.  Take that racism and stick it up your ass!

Elvis Presley – Are You Lonesome Tonight

Why yes Elvis I am.  How did you know?  I just remember a parody of the song in the film Top Secret with Val Kilmer!  I was so young I thought that those were the real lyrics!

Sam Cooke – Chain Gang

Quite and unconventional slow song.  Nothing says “Come on honey!  Let’s dance!” than a song about prisoners working on the roadside chained together like in Cool Hand Luke.  Naw, I can see couples getting a lot closer.

Soon…real soon, I’ll start listing some international bands for a change!

Leave a Reply

