Music Nostalgia – 5 Great Songs of ’58


Here we are!  The great age of rock and roll…at least one year of the early years…is now here!!  And this is the year Elvis starting getting competition from a young heart throb Ricky Nelson.   I recall asking my mother about him and she swooned…50 years later!!  Justin Beiber has got NOTHING on this kid!

Everly Brothers – Bye Bye Love

I absolutely love the Everly Brothers!  And such a perky attitude towards breakups and heart ache.  This was another one of those that mixed a little country with a little rock and roll!

Ricky Nelson – Believe What You Say

I have to admit, I don’t really listen to Ricky as much as the panty thrower in the fifth row but if I was born in this era I probably would have.  My mom went nuts for this kid and it was a swoonfest if I ever saw one…besides Elvis that is!

Big Bopper – Chantilly Lace

Another of my mom’s favorite songs (I base most of the fifties based on her interpretation) and the last great hit for this rock legend…still a year left before American Pie.

Bobby Freeman – Do You Want To Dance

I had to add this song for the thought of being disowned!  My parents would break out into dance and my mother would sing this (she sings very well!) but only the chorus.  When I finally heard the original that was the only memory I had!

Bobby Darin – Splish Splash

I squeal for Bobby!  And what a huge loss to music, though I don’t think he was entirely rock and roll.  He was way more jazzy!  I also am fond of Mack the Knife!

Next year is a sad year so be ready for that!

One thought on “Music Nostalgia – 5 Great Songs of ’58

Leave a Reply

